Saturday 10 December 2016

Dorian Love Award for Sportsmanship - 2016

Adele ‘Nitebabe’ Janse van Rensburg.
2016 has seen huge changes in esports and in Mind Sports South Africa as a whole.

Even though, for decades, women have made a significant contribution, 2016 will long  be remembered in South Africa as the year when women stood up and took control of mind sports in South Africa.

One of the prime movers of that change is none other than Adele ‘Nitebabe’ Janse van Rensburg who has impressed all by her dedication, abilities  in the field of administration, and more importantly, in the field of play.

There is not a registered player that does not speak highly of Adele. Adele is generous in spirit in both victory and defeat. I have not yet heard a gamer that has heard a disparaging remark escape her lips.

Adele epitomises the type of gamer to which all gamers should aspire.

Thus MSSA's Annual General Meeting awarded the Dorian Love Trophy to Adele. This makes Adele the first woman to earn the award since its inception in 1987.

The full list of registered players who have been awarded the award since 1987 is as follows:

2016 Adele ‘Nitebabe’ Janse van Rensburg VexxedPhoenix
2015 JessieJoubert Rondebosch Boys
2014 Ion Todd Knights Mind Sports Club
2013 Kyle Rhoodie Knights Mind Sports Club
2012 Wouter Smit HFW
2011 Baber Abbas Tekken Guru
2010 Gregory Laycock Pretoria Boys High School
2009 Dominic Aphane WITS
2008 Tim Cruise Peninsula Wargames Group
2007 Ramsey Louw Paul Roos Gimnasium
2006 Greg Pullin Peninsula Wargames Group
2005 Alexis Roodt Pretoria Boys High School
2004 Ingo Haferung Old Edwardian Wargames Club
2003 Nicholas Clare OE
2002 Michael Karstens Peninsula Wargames Group
2001 David Davidson Peninsula Wargames Group
2000 David Davidson Peninsula Wargames Group
1999 Bobby Stathoussis Jeppe Quondam
1998 Ben Fouche Pretoria Wargames  Club
1997 Jabulane Mazibuko Gauteng Draughts Association
1996 Garth Schoeman Jeppe Quondam
1995 David Smith Old Edwardian Wargames Club
1994 Richard Pullin Peninsula Wargames Group
1993 Dickon Jayes Old Edwardian Wargames Club
1992 David Kitkat Eastern Province Wargames Group
1991 Derek Murrell Northcliff Wargames Club
1990 Shawn Comrie Eastern Province Wargames Group
1989 Craig Nevin Peninsula Wargames Group
1988 Stuart Rosenberg Old Edwardian Wargames Club
1987 Steven Meskin WITS

No comments:

Post a Comment