Wednesday 14 December 2016

MSSA's 2016 Management Board Awards

Koen Hubert, Young Ho Lee, Mr Jun (President of IeSF), Jason Batzofin, and Leonardo Ribas
Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) revealed at its Annual General Meeting the recipients of its prestigious Management Board Awards for the 2016 year.

Such awards have been awarded since 2009 and properly reflect those who have dedicated there time and efforts.

It is always difficult for the Board to make these awards with so many outstanding performances from which to choose. There are just so many members who have delivered outstanding results during the year. Thus, the entire membership is enrolled in making nominations, and it is from these nominations that the final choice is made.

Jason Batzofin – Jason is a two times Junior World Champion for Ancients Wargames. His dedication is unparalleled. Jason too, is committed to development and promotion of the game. Not only that, but Jason, in 2016, was hand-picked by IeSF to serve on the IeSF Athlete's Commission and served as the youngest Team Manager for a  Protea eSports Team.

Lucille Brown – Lucille has demonstrated her skill at every turn. Lucille won the Morabaraba section at the 2015 SA National Championships, 2016 Free State Championships, and 2016 North West Championships. Lucille  also won the Checkers sections at the 2016 Gauteng Championships and 2016 Mpumulanga Championships. Without doubt, Lucille has established herself as a force to be reckoned with in the games of Checkers and Morabaraba.

Matthew Smith - Has represented South Africa in both 2015 and 2016 IeSF World Championships in the game of League of Legends. His drive, dedication and ability to motivate other team members  makes him a worthy recipient of this  award.
Garth Schoeman – Garth has been a loyal member of MSSA since the 1990's. Although  work and family life have impacted on his gaming, over  the years Garth has still managed to serve on MSSA's MANCOM, run Knights Mind Sports Club and be a fierce competitor. Thus, although he first earned Protea Colours in 2002, Garth's standard is still good enough for him to win the 2015 SA National  Championships and be re-awarded National Federation Colours.

Colin Webster – Having  been involved in MSSA since its  inception, Colin has remained active and dedicated to MSSA.

MyComLink - The website has given MSSA fantastic coverage. MyComLink is one of the fastest growing community portals in South Africa.

They profile National and International sports, academic, cultural, school & community activities. 

In 2016 they launched E-Magazines for different interest groups and in 2017 they will be launching a Gaming Magazine supported by Blue Label Telecoms.

Follow the Mind Sports South Africa page on MyComLink to keep up with the latest e-Sports news and results.Without the site, MSSA's reach would not have been as significant as what it is.

SterKinekor – SterKinekor has shown consistent support over the years. SterKinekor's commitment to eSports has been unwavering and is much appreciated.

The winners are:

Mind Sports Person of the Year:
Jason Batzofin
St John's College
Board Gamer of the Year:
Lucille Brown
All Stars
Computer Gamer of the Year:
Matthew Smith
Wargamer of the Year:
Garth Schoeman
Volunteer of the Year:
Colin Webster
Mind Sports Writer of the Year:
Tamzyn Pamplin
Best Sponsor of the Year:

The winners since 2009 may be viewed on:

No comments:

Post a Comment