Tuesday 7 March 2023

Results: 12th Online Inter-school Provincial Championships - 4 March 2023


Mikara Nokraj (Dawnview High School), on left, has shattered records by being the first female to win gold in the efootball esports title and to earn High School Provincial Colours in such esports title.

Mind Sports South Africa's (MSSA) 12th Online Inter-school Provincial Championships held on 4 March 2023 were an absolute success.

Ably, and efficiently umpired, by Anneke Luies the championship ran smoothly throughout, even though there was the proverbial load shedding courtesy of Eskom and the ANC government.

The championship also demonstrated  the growth of esports as a sport at school level with more female entrants participating.

Not only were there a greater number of female entrants, but the skill level of such females won  the admiration and support of many of the male esports athletes.

Roedean School (SA) fielded an all female team in League of Legends esports title. Such team not only finished as the top team in the female division, but also finished in third place overall being the first female team to do so in in such esports title.

Karli Roodt {Hoërskool Middelburg) picked up her second win in the female division of the Clash Royale esports title and finished in eighth (8th) place overall in the most popular of all esports titles.

Special mention must be made of Mikara Nokraj (Dawnview High School) who further smashed records. Not only did Mikara win the female division of the efootball esports title, but she proved herself to be the 'kingmaker' in such title. Her skill and ability had most of the male athletes cheering for her as she mananaged to hold off strong challenges from male competitors.

Even Counter-Strike: GO teams have mixed gender teams which proved to be formidable.

All players who have finished in the top three, or top twenty percent - whichever is greater, qualify for the National Team Trials to be held on 25 March 2023.

All such players are reminded that to enter NTT, players must be in possession of a valid passport. 

The winners of MSSA's 2023 Western Cape Online Championships are:

TitleName of player/teamClubColours awarded
Clash of ClansChristo van ZylPoint High SchoolWestern Cape High School
Clash RoyaleAnando WillemseHoërskool Klerksdorp
CS:GODoefHoërskool Driehoek
Neva Walters (captain)Gauteng High School Colours
Michael PrinslooGauteng High School Colours
Kyle KhozaGauteng High School Colours
Rohan ArneilGauteng High School Colours
Cameron du PlessisGauteng High School Colours
League of Legends FemaleThe Roedean PaladinsRoedean School (SA)
Ireoluwatomiwa IluyemiGauteng High School Colours
Hannah SchreiberGauteng High School Colours
Aadilah NoorbhaiGauteng High School Colours
Abigail AdonisGauteng High School Colours
Frances NewmanGauteng High School Colours
League of LegendsGrottoMiddelburg Hoërskool
Lu-Zelle KrugerMpumalanga High School
Leson VisagieMpumalanga High School
Patrick NelMpumalanga High School
Dylan PutekMpumalanga High School
Kenn du PlessisMpumalanga High School
eFootball FemaleMikara NokrajDawnview High SchoolGauteng High School Colours
eFootballShoib HassanDawnview High School
FIFA 2023Luke GebhardOakhill School
HearthStoneKyle VorsterHoërskool Monument High SchoolGauteng High School Colours
Rocket League 1 v 1 FemaleKarli RoodtMiddies (Hoërskool Middelburg)Mpumalanga High School
Rocket League 1 v 1Tylan LutchmanCrawford College Lonehill
Rocket League 3 v 3PR0NHSNorthcliff High School
Mayuran NaickerGauteng High School Colours
Liam ThomasGauteng High School Colours
Jordan JassonGauteng High School Colours
Street Fighter VMarnus van der MerweHoërskool KlerksdorpNorth West High School Colours
Sportsmenship AwardKarli RoodtMiddies (Hoërskool Middelburg)

Additional reading:

No comments:

Post a Comment