Tuesday, 11 January 2022

Working together.


With Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) having included, on 14 November 2021, Activision's esports title Call of Duty Mobile (CODM) into its official line up for Provincial and National Championships, the community has taken official competition to heart.

The community has banded together in a show of great camaraderie to run a competition open to all affiliated clubs to allow teams earn a ranking on the official CODM Battle Royale Ladder rankings.

The games start at 20H30.

There are 3 back to back rounds in squads setting.

The rankings will be published after every week.


  • No Tanks
  • No Balistic Weapons
  • No Emojis
  • No Cars ( any Moving Object with Wheels)

Placing Point System:

1 st - 10 points
2 nd - 9 points
3 rd - 8 points
4 th - 7 points
5 th - 6 points
6 th - 5 points
7 th - 4 points
8 th - 3 points
9 th - 2 points
10 th - 1 point

point_up_tone1 These are placement points

Kill Point System:

2 points Per Kill
Each kill will give the team 2 points per kill

If any players are found breaking the rules set or using banned items, the points accumulated for the round will be forfeit and the team will not receive those points.

There are 3 lobbies starting from 20:30 every Wednesday each month is a season so one season runs over 4 weeks

Tuesday, 7 December 2021

Amanda Pakade speaks on MSSA's commitment to promoting esports in schools.

Amanda Pakade, MSSA's Past President (2018 to 2021), shall be talking to YOUFM's Karabo Mokgaladi about MSSA's commitment to promoting esports in schools.

During Amanda Pakade's presidency. MSSA experienced a huge upsurge in membership among schools.

Remaining on the Board as Hon. Vice=President, Amanda Pakade intends to carry on promoting growth in this important sector.

Time: 18H20
Where: YOUFM - DSTV 842

Tuesday, 30 November 2021

Mobile Esports Africa affiliate Call of Duty Mobile.

Mobile Esports Africa, sponsored by Mobile Esports Africa PTY LTD, have now affiliated to Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA).  The club is chaired by Lisa Horn, and the club is interested in becoming involved in every aspect of Call of Duty Mobile (CODM). Ms. Amanda Pakade (MSSA President) stated, "it is wonderful to see yet another club involved in CODM enter the family. Of even greater importance, is that this is yet another esports club headed by a female, which will further help gender equity in gaming". MSSA is confident that the club will have a long and fruitful association within the national federation.

Also read:

Sunday, 28 November 2021

Gansbaai based club 'Fear Gaming Esports' affiliates to MSSA.

With Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) having agreed to host Call of Duty Mobile (CODM) at its 2021 South African National Championships on 4 December 2021, more-and-more clubs are taking the plunge and affiliating to MSSA.

The 'plunge' involves clans becoming proper legal entities as clubs. This will benefit all athletes in the long run as there will be good governance and transparency.

Athletes will also be able to battle it out for Regional, Provincial, and National Colours as they climb their way up towards earning a place in South Africa's Protea Team.

Nadia Henrico, Chairwoman of Fear Gaming, has seen the possibilities of running a legal club, and has already expressed her desire to help make esports more accessible to South African children, and especially females.

Fear Gaming Esports was formed with the aim of catering to those wanting a little something more and different to the norm.

The club caters for the more mature gamer, and those wanting to challenge their skills and get out of their comfort zones. The club holds its activities in a controlled and friendly atmosphere where good sportsmanship is promoted.

Weekly 'scrims' are played with invited fellow clans/clubs where meta weapons are taken out of the equation to make things more challenging, and much more fun.

Fear Gaming Esports proudly hosts 'Lethal Ladies scrims'. Such scrims are reserved only for females, with no male participation whatsoever, wherein pink weapons and camo are encouraged.

Ms. Amanda Pakade, MSSA President, has expressed her delight in having Nadia within the fold. Ms. Pakade said, "Having more people within MSSA, who share MSSA's vision of making esports into a delivery system, is a delight and a honour".

MSSA is confident that Fear Gaming will have a long and fruitful association with MSSA.

Fear Gaming Esports' Facebook Page may be found on https://www.facebook.com/102059682320461/posts/102361662290263/ 

Also read:

Esports comes of age.

With some major esports events having started in the 1990's it is only natural that all ages would be interested in participating in esports events.

Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) hs already discussed such a championship with South African Masters Sports Association a number of years ago. However, at such time, there were not enough older athletes participating to make it worthwhile.

Nevertheless, Chinese Taipei Esports Association (CTESA) has now beaten MSSA to the punch. 

With CTESA's dynamic approach to esports, under the leadership of 
Hsu Pei-Ching (CTESA President), CTESA is one of the most efficient esports national federations.

The stream for CTESA's League of Legends for athletes in their 60's may be viewed on: 

Friday, 26 November 2021

MSSA's South African National 2021 Championships.

All members are reminded that the closing date for MSSA's 2021 South African National Championships closes on 30 November 2021.

The esports cdiscipline shall be held online, while the board gaming and wargames disciplines shall be held at the Old Edwardian Society.

Full details can be found here:

  • Boardgames: https://esportscommentator.blogspot.com/2021/11/south-african-national-board-games.html
  • Esports: https://esportscommentator.blogspot.com/2021/11/mssas-south-african-national-online.html
  • Wargames: https://esportscommentator.blogspot.com/2021/11/south-african-national-wargames.html
Please note that athletes who win all rounds in their respective games shall be awarded National Federation Colours.

Thursday, 25 November 2021

Clubs offering CODM which are affiliated to MSSA

Mind Sports South Africa's decision to host Call of Duty Mobile (CODM) at its annual South African National Championships has caused a flurry of acrtivity and interest in the community.

Clans that were previously unstructured bodies have now become properly constitutionalised bodies and have banded together with other associations to affiliate to MSSA.

The CODM esports title thus seems as though it will be hotly contested at MSSA's SA National Championships on 4 December 2021 and in the 2022 season.

Clubs offering CODM affiliated to MSSA to date are:

Artic TrollsECWerner Human066 236 4096ijacobson.shaun144@gmail.com
Bloodline SocietyNWEtienne Grobler086 636 1602`Etmel3sep@gmail.com
CAST_E-SportsGPCrystal Hewitt072 789 7381crystal.hewitt1@yahoo.com
Fear GamingWCNadia Henrico082 416 6633henriconadia8632@gmail.com
Gods of WarECTerence Clarence072 698 5900terence@godsofwar.co.za
Mobile Esports AfricaGPLisa Horn060 541 3793mobileesportsafrica@gmail.com
NuminousWCRay Del Carne082 442 9868teams.sa@gmail.com
SAF.EnforcesWCCharles Black072 238 5088blackchips31@gmail.com
The ValentzasMPDaniel Brits074 838 6623dnabrits@gmail.com

Also read: