Tuesday 20 July 2021

D-DAY - Important notice - change of date - MSSA's 2021 NWU Online School League - 20 July 2021.

Mind Sports South Africa has delayed its MSSA 2021 NWU Online School League to take into account the current COVID-19 regulations. The league shall start on 21 July 2021, Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA). 

The closing date for entries has now been moved to 20 July 2021.


Due to schools only reopening on 26 July 2021, any learner ay enter. However, where it is a team event, all embers of the team shall all be registered learners at the same school.

The entry fee is R50.00 per player. The esports titles to be played are as follows:

Period/genreTitlePlatformAge restrictionPlayers
CS GOPC,165 v 5
PaladinsPC/console125 v 5
FIFA ‘21PC31 v 1
PES 2021PS 431 v 1
Clash RoyaleMobile121 v 1
Dota 2PC125 v 5
League of LegendsPC125 v 5
FightingStreet Fighter VConsole121 v 1
CardHearthStoneMobile71 v 1

As already reported, MSSA's Online League (NWU Online School League) offers prizes other than just the medals and provincial colours. The prizes include:
  • A R30,000.00 NWU bursary for the winner of the Clash Royale esports title, and
  • R5,000.00 Prize money for the School for the winner of the Counter-Strike: GO esports title, and
  • R5,000.00 Prize money for the School for the winner of the League of Legends esports title, and
  • R5,000.00 Prize money for the School for the winner of the efootball PES 2020 esports title, and
  • R5,000.00 Prize money for the School for the winner of the Street Fighter V esports title.
In keeping with Mind Sport South Africa's policies re development programmes, entries are free and gratis to registered players who are unable to afford to enter such championships should the member club formally request assistance. Such applications must be directed to the MSSA at: e-mail: mindsportscorrespondence@gmail.com 

Players who are registered with any school may participate.

Players are reminded that the majority choice of rules as at the closing date for entries shall be used.

Entry fees can be deposited directly into Mind Sports South Africa's account, held at ABSA Bank, account number, 90 4766 7676. 

No entries shall be accepted without MSSA having received proof of payment.

All entries must be entered onto the entry form that may be downloaded from https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12rA4dXJWfO002fQgclVtVHR_AWZv8CPh6SzNo6worBI/edit#gid=287696184

Also read:

Sunday 11 July 2021

Umpire Course - 24 July 2021


One of the most important aspects of a well run championship is the consistency and standard of umpiring.

With MSSA's new ruling that all players participating in MSSA's 2021 Online National Team Trials, means that more people need to sign up for the course.

Umpiring affects every aspect of a championship, and since Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) is highly cognisant of such, MSSA shall continue to hold a number of umpires' courses during 2021.

Players who have reached the age of majority and have received Protea and/or, National Federation, and/or Provincial Colours in the previous year, shall have successfully completed an Umpires’ Course (if such course was held in the province in which such player resides after the date of being awarded such colours)  in order to be considered for selection.

Such umpiring courses shall ensure that umpires are certified and are fully aware of their duties and responsibilities.

The first such course shall be done as follows:

Date: 24 July 2021
Time: 9H00 - 18H00
Cost: R331.00 per person
Venue: Online

The course shall include:
  • Ethics
  • Background to MSSA's systems
  • Roles of the different umpires
  • Entry
  • Pairings
  • Data capturing of results
  • How results are further used
At the end, a test will be given, and those that pass will be accredited as level 1 umpires.

Any Registered Player who is 18 or older may register for such course through their member club.

For additional information, please contact mindsportscorrespondence@gmail.com

Friday 9 July 2021

Liam Moodley (Northcliff High School) hangs onto pole position.


The latest rankings produced by Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) for the Clash Royale esports title take into account all MSSA's 2021 Championships into account.

The rankings show just how dynamic esports as a sport is.

The 'Old Guard' is never able to rest on their laurels for long, as the younger, more hard-working, and dedicated athletes are quickly able to catch up, if not overtake, them.

With the ranking system based on the ELO system, all results are taken into account in official Derby, Regional, Provincial, and National Championships to give a comprehensive ranking which is then used in MSSA championships.

Such rankings will be used in MSSA's upcoming NWU Online School League to be played from 21 July 2021.

It is in MSSA's 2021 NWU Online School League that the winner will take home a whopping R30,000.00 study bursary for use by the winner at a NWU campus.

The current rankings are as follows:

PosName of PlayeryearClubPoints
1Liam Moodley21Northcliff High School282.5
2Christiaan Ackermann21Oakhill School265
3Damian Putter21Middelburg Hoërskool260.9
4Juan-Matthew Knoetsec21Middelburg Hoërskool237.7
5Jack Ligeti21Oakhill School201.9
6Henco Volschenk21Hoërskool Klerksdorp197
7Tom Seddon21Oakhill School189.6
8Willie van Rensburg20Hoërskool Klerksdorp185.6
9Immanuel Swart20Hoërskool Klerksdorp183
10Ethan Bright21Oakhill School180.9
11John Kim21Middelburg Hoërskool177.2
12Tiaan Du Preez20Hoërskool Klerksdorp155.8
13Dennis Zhu21Oakhill School138.6
14Gustav Louwrens20Hoërskool Klerksdorp137.7
15Joshua Willis21Oakhill School136.6
16Gustav Louwrens21Hoërskool Klerksdorp134.6
17Rolandt Welgemoed21Hoërskool Klerksdorp130.7
18Rheinieco Nel20Hoërskool Klerksdorp129.7
19Nico Bisschoff21Hoërskool Klerksdorp122.5
20Tiaan Koen21Hoërskool Klerksdorp119.1
21Matthew Petersen20Oakhill School109.6
22Sebastian Cook20Oakhill School109.6
23Dale Spolander20Northcliff High School109.6
24Henco Volschenk20Hoërskool Klerksdorp109.6
25Suene du Toit20Northcliff High School109.6
26Alexander Venter20HS Randburg109.6
27Charl Potgieter20HS Randburg109.6
28Karl Wassermann20HS Randburg109.6
29Ehandre Ellis20Hoërskool Klerksdorp109.6
30Joshua Evans20Northcliff High School109.6
31Jordan Nel20Hoërskool Klerksdorp109.6
32Aidan Vorster19Curro Aurora109.6
33Wickus Lubbe19Parys High School109.6
34Thammy Ndlovu19Northcliff High School109.6
35Willem Broodryk19Parys High School109.6
36Carlos Kori19Northcliff High School109.6
37Terrance Broomberg19Curro Aurora109.6
38Tyreke Michael19Northcliff High School109.6
39Jeandre Viljoen19Parys High School109.6
40Michael Naidoo19Northcliff High School107
41Herschelle Ncube19Hyde Park High106.7
42Wesley Pachai19Curro Klerksdorp106.4
43Josh Naidoo19Northcliff High School101.8
44Vicky van der Merwe19ZAG Academy100
45Colin Webster21Old Edwardian Mind Sports Club100
46Rivaan Ramdass19Hyde Park High99.9
47Christopher Chahine21Curro Klerksdorp97.2
48Michael Pienaar19Northcliff High School95.1
49Anneke Lourens20Hoërskool Klerksdorp95
50Daniel Lombard19Monument Park High School95
51Ilhan Moosa21Northcliff High School95
52Kyle Vorster19Curro Aurora95
53Thammy Ndlovu19Northcliff High School92.8
54Ehandre Ellis20Hoërskool Klerksdorp92.8
55Riando Smith21Hoërskool Klerksdorp91.3
56Khumo Mononyane19Hyde Park High90.5
57Rohil Shivaay Poorun19Northcliff High School90.4
58Mack, Shane20Oakhill School90.3
59Karli de Jager20Hoërskool Randburg82.9
60Daywenn Redlinghys20Hoërskool Klerksdorp75
61Mason Ridgway21Curro Klerksdorp75
62Tyreke Micahel21Northcliff High School74

Also read: