Monday 1 March 2021

National Ladder Champions

The amount of work behind the scenes  at  MSSA's SA National Championships (SAN) is truly phenomenal, for not only must the administration ensure the swift running of the most  prestigious championship in the country, but it must also keep an eye on the other awards  that have to be  made such as the award of colours and the determination of the National Ladder Champions.

The Ladder has a greater significance in Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) with the requirement that any player that wishes to be selected needs to be ranked in the top ten of such ladder.

Only a Registered Player that is ranked in the top ten positions on the ladder, may automatically qualify for National Team Selection. It is therefore vital for any player wishing to be considered for national team selection to actively participate in the Ladder.

The Ladder works on a system of challenges throughout the year in order to give clubs the opportunity to improve their teams/players' playing skills outside of the normal MSSA championships. The Ladder allows teams/players' to experiment with new tactics, combinations, etc.

Registered Players, through the Member Club to which they are affiliated, may challenge any Register Player on the ladder. Any Registered Player so challenged has 5 days within which to respond and play the match. Such rule allows the ladder to retain its dynamic nature and stops the challenged Registered Player from delaying unnecessarily. 

Even players within a club may challenge other club members as long as officiated by the club and done in terms of the ladder rules.

However, any 
Registered Player challenged during any official MSSA event while both such Registered Players are participating in such event, and are paired by the umpire to play against each other, must play such challenge. This means that any or all games in a MSSA Derby, Regional, Provincial, and/or National Championships may also count as ladder games.

The full rules for the ladder may be found here: 
Important changes to MSSA's Inter-Club Ladder rules.

The full list of the SA National Ladder Champions are:

National Ladder Champions
TitlesCategoryName of player or teamClub
PremierColin WebsterOld Edwardian Mind Sports Club
High Schools - MaleElwyn JonesOld Edwardian Mind Sports Club
CheckersPremierMelikaya NonyukelaVultures Draughts Club
Clash Royale
PremierWillie van RensburgHoërskool Klerksdorp
Premier - FemaleAnneke LourensHoërskool Klerksdorp
High Schools - MaleHenco VolschenkHoërskool Klerksdorp
CounterStrike: GO
PremierZAG CS:GOZAG Academy
SchoolsHBSRedhill High School
DotA 2
SeniorPr0NHSNorthcliff High School
SchoolsPR0NHSNorthcliff High School
PremierJonas LorseOakhill School
High Schools - MaleJonas LorseOakhill School
PremierAidan Vorster and Kyle VorsterZAG Academy
High Schools - MaleAidan VorsterZAG Academy
Primary Schools - MaleKyle VorsterZAG Academy
League of Legends
PremierTeam GLCCurro Grantleigh
High Schools - MaleTeam GLCCurro Grantleigh
PremierSaudah BhaimiaCurro Klerksdorp
High Schools - FemaleSaudah BhaimiaCurro Klerksdorp
PremierBooImplodeBoo Games
High Schools - MaleVikingsHigh School Zwartkops
PremierNaeem ThomasPES Society
High Schools - MaleAndile SibandaPES Society
Street Fighter V
PremierTheunis van der MerweHoërskool Klerksdorp
Premier - FemaleLeone LoftusFakkel School of Skills
High Schools - FemaleLeone LoftusFakkel School of Skills
High Schools - MaleTheunis van der MerweHoërskool Klerksdorp
Tekken 7
PremierJonathan BrownTeam PlayBell
Premier - FemaleCharlize SeremakZAG Academy
High Schools - FemaleChiney WallaceHTS Sasolburg
High Schools - MaleMichael Janse van RensburgHTS Sasolburg

Also read:

No comments:

Post a Comment