Thursday 24 October 2019


Mind Sports South Africa's Jason Batzofin (foreground) is IESF’s retiring Players’ Commission Chairman
It is IESF's duty to protect all players who participate in IESF events.

The IESF Players' Commission was created in 2016 for this very purpose. Each member on the
Players' Commission serves a 3 year term. It is now coming up to the end of 2019 and thus, the end of
the three year term for all who are currently serving in the Players' Commission.

The Players' Commission has no role in any selection disputes, disciplinary hearings or anti-doping
involving athletes. The Commission serves a far greater purpose and that is to represent the athletes'
best interests to the IESF Board.

The founding and current Players' Commission consists of Jason Batzofin (South Africa), Koen
Schobbers (Netherlands), and Madeleine Leander (Sweden). This will be the end of their full term and thus a new election will be held.

Each National Federation’s Players’ Representative shall have one vote each and shall elect six
members of which half shall be male and half shall be female.

However, should a National Federation’s Players Representative not be able to attend, such Players’
Representative may appoint a member of such National Team attending IESF’s 11th World
Championships to vote on his/her behalf.

The voting shall take place at IESF’s 11th World championships, and IESF shall make a venue and
time available for all the National Federation’s Players’ Representatives to meet.

It is at such meeting that the various eligible retiring Players’ Commission members and National
Federation’s Players’ Representatives shall state which of their number are making themselves
available for election. However, if there are not a sufficient amount of players standing for election
then Players may offer to stand for election even though they are not National Federation’s Players’
Representatives, but as long as they are members of a national team at such World Championships.

It is further emphasized that gender equity shall be enforced and that 50% of the six person
commission shall be female on this commission that does not allow more than one representative per

Only National Federation’s Players’ Representatives are allowed to vote, and in order to qualify as
such and athlete shall:

  • Have a seat, as per the NF’s own Constitution/Statutes, on the Board of such member
  • federation, and
  • Have reached the age of majority, and
  • Have represented such member federation in a national team at an IESF accredited event, and
  • Not be older than 30 years of age.

This is a vital position that requires athletes who are dedicated and committed to ensuring a better
environment for all athletes.

IESF President, Colin Webster, stated, “IESF is proud of the contribution made by the members of the inaugural commission. All members worked well during their term of office and have created a
culture within the commission that will ensure that all esports athletes are protected.”

All athletes interested in participating in this exciting endeavour are urged to contact Jason Batzofin

  • Facebook Group Page -
  • Discord Group-
  • E-mail - (CC Email to

No comments:

Post a Comment