Tuesday 6 December 2016

Results of MSSA's 30th South African National Championships

Wolfpack in action at the 2016 SA National Championships.
MSSA's 30th National Championships once again hosted by HTS Witbank was indeed a success.

Thanks must be extended to HTS Witbank, Morizane Boyes and the Mpumulanga Provincial Director, Mr. Louis Brown.

The championship attracted players from the majority of provinces. Players attended from 6 provinces.

More importantly the number of female participation grew exponentially with women competing in 10 out of the 12 games offered. The SA Nationals is thus now the championship that has more female participation than any other championship held in South Africa, and ranks among the top championships in the world for such.

Players thus battled it out to not only to earn the title of South African Champion, but also to earn National Federation Colours and the right to fight for a place in the 2017 National Team Trials that will ultimately deliver a team to IeSF's 2017 9th World Championships.

The championship delivered a number of surprises. Most notable of the surprise results were to be found in the CounterStrike, FIFA, and HearthStone titles.

In CounterStrike, the newly formed VexxedPhoenix team smashed the opposition to take first place.

The all female team, Team Wolfpack, too delivered outstanding performances  to take 1st place in the women's division.

A challenger from Fakkel School in Sasolburg, by the name of Khahliso Malape, emerged as the winner. However, Jolene Bico maintained her position as the female South African champion. 

HearthStone too showed a new challenger coming to the fore. Kelvin Yang (Northcliff High School) waltzed home to take the title of South African champion and earn himself a position in the 2017 National Team Trials.

The winners are:

Title Name of player/team Club Colours awarded
Ancients wargames Colin Webster Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Ancients wargames – Handicaps Terence Allwright Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Checkers Khahliso Malape Fakkel School
Checkers - female Lucille Brown All Stars
CounterStrike: GO VxP Knights VexxedPhoenix National Colours
CounterStrike: GO – female Wolfpack Knights Mind Sports Club National Colours
CounterStrike: GO – High School K1IIJOYS BNKR
DotA 2 Titans VexxedPhoenix National Colours
FIFA ‘16 Khahliso Malape Fakkel School National Colours
FIFA ‘16 – female Jolene Bico BNKR National Colours
FIFA ‘16 – High Schooll Kamohelo Tladi Fakkel School
Hearthstone Kelvin Yang Northcliff High School National Colours
League of Legends Fuzz Logic VexxedPhoenix National Colours
League of Legends – High School K1IIJOYS Hoerskool Generaal Hertzog
Morabaraba Johannes Mokua All Stars National Colours
Morabaraba (female) Nombulelo Gavin Fakkel School National Colours
Morabaraba – High School Mukha Masheleni Fakkel School
Mortal Kombat X Kyle Chan Some Northcliff High School National Colours
Mortal Kombat X (female) Leone Loftus Fakkel National Colours
Robyn Gertzer Teutonic Knights National Colours
PES 2016 Richard Ferreira Fakkel School National Colours
PES 2016 (female) Leone Loftus Fakkel School
Street Fighter V Leonard Loftus Masters of Mind Sports National Colours
Street Fighter V (female) Sune Van Der Merwe HTS Witbank National Colours
Tekken Tag Tournament II Gawie Fick Fakkel School National Colours
Tekken Tag Tournament II (female) Nadine Swart HTS Witbank National Colours
Tekken Tag Tournament II – High School Waldo Joubert BNKR
Jan-Hendrik Van Aswegen BNKR
StarCraft II Aidan Smale Old Edwardian Wargames Club National Colours

Photographs of the event may be found on: https://www.facebook.com/pg/mindsportssa/photos/?tab=album&album_id=10155465022184008


  1. ... Where is World of Tanks??? It has more players and teams than most of these games on this list

    1. The games played at SA Nationals are those selected by member clubs at the Annual General Meeting.