Monday 5 December 2016

Results of the MSSA's 2016 elections.

Morizane Boyes, the new MSSA president.
MSSA held its 33rd Annual General Meeting on 4 December 2016 directly after the close of the South African NationalChampionships.

To say that the South African National Championships were successful is an understatement, however, it was only a forerunner of the incredible changes that occurred at the SA National Championships.

In terms of the elections, the winds of change swept in and left MSSA to have a new vitalised committee that far better reflects South African society than before.

Six out of the 13 Board positions are now held by women, with Morizane Boyes having moved up from the Women’s Desk to now be the President of MSSA.

Morizane is a veteran gamer and has earned Protea Colours in 2014 when she represented South Africa at IeSF’s 5th World Championships – Baku, as well as being the first female to ever referee an accredited online test match.

The rest of the Board consists of:

President Morizane Boyes (BNKR)
Vice- Presidents James Evans (Knights Mind Sports Club)
Jessie Joubert (Rondebosch Boys)
Sheraaz Nunnian (Eastern Cape eSports)
Adele Janse van Rensburg (Vexxed Phoenix)
GENERAL SECRETARY Colin Webster (Old Edwardian Wargames Club)
WOMEN'S DESK: Blair Hamberger (Knights Mind Sports Club)
BOARD-GAMING REPRESENTATIVE Joseph Matlhong (NWU Vaal Mind Sports)
CARD-GAMING REPRESENTATIVE Paula Loftus (Masters of Mind Sports)
WARGAMING REPRESENTATIVE Sean Barry (Riverview Mind Sports Club)
NATIONAL SCHOOLS DIRECTOR: Stephanie Craig (Jeppe Boys)
PLAYER’S REPRESENTATIVE Jason Batzofin (St John’s College)

There is no doubt that the new Board is all fired-up to deal with whatever is thrown at it.

No comments:

Post a Comment