Monday 30 January 2017

In with the new...

Jason Batzofin at IeSF's 8th world Championships - Jakarta
Sunday, 29 January 2017 saw the Old Edwardian Wargames Club hold its 28th Annual General Meeting.

No fewer than 62% of the membership turned up to the AGM.

After noting the sad  passing of Sylvia Webster (who was  a member of the sub-club from 1989 to 2016), business commenced.

At such AGM, the sub-club saw a changing of the guard, with Jason Batzofin being elected in as the sub-club's 4th chairperson.

Previous chairpersons were:
  • Ewan Retief (2016)
  • Colin Webster (1991 to 2015)
  • Richard Kassman (1989 to 1991)
Jason is determined to get the club to become more involved in esports as it already has a strong pedigree in the wargames discipline.

Even Jason is a twice Junior World Champion for wargames having won such title in 2014 and then in 2015.

Jason Batzofin, who is also MSSA’s Player Representative and has also earned his Protea Colours for CounterStrike: GO in 2015 and then again in 2016 for his role at the Protea Team Manager.

The Old Edwardian Wargames Club has had representation in every national team for figure games since 1991 in international competitions on an annual basis, and has established South Africa as one of the top wargaming nations.

Old Edwardian Wargames Club players who have represented South Africa are:

Name of players
Senior Team
Grant Casey, 
Ingo Haferung, 
Kevin Hoyle, 
Gregory Kupczyk, 
Vincent Lane, 
Bernice Ligault. 
Richard Ligault, 
Pavel Rabiner, 
Dr Evgenii Rabiner, 
Gareth Rimmington, 
Edward van Trotsenburg, 
Colin Webster,
David Webster, and
Sylvia Webster
Junior Team
Dominic Bauer, 
Nicholas Clare, 
Melissa Kupczyk, 
Vincent Lane, 
Marc Marais, 
Benjamin Shulman, 
Matthew Strachan,

Old Edwardian Wargames Club can also boast of four World Champions, being:
  • BERNICE LIGAULT (ANCIENTS – Women’s section 2006, 2007, 2008)
  • ELISHIA RETIEF (ANCIENTS – Women’s section 2014, 2015)
  • MATTHEW STRACHAN (ANCIENTS - Junior section - 2001)
  • BENJAMIN SHULMAN (ANCIENTS - Junior section - 2002)
  • COLIN WEBSTER (ANCIENTS - Senior section - 2013, 2014, 2015)
Players are also encouraged to contact any or all of the sub club's officials for further information:

Name e-mail

No comments:

Post a Comment