Monday 30 May 2016

All the results from the 15th Mpumulanga Championships

Nadine Swart - Tekken Tag
The 15thMpumulanga Championships held  on 28 & 29 May 2016 went off without a hitch.

HTS Witbank once again proved to be a wonderful host, under the guidance of Louis Brown (the Provincial Director) and MSSA's umpires (Ryan Boyes, Morizane Boyes, and Ewan Retief).

Eleven clubs from three provinces participated in the event which enormously increased the level of competition and excitement.

With the Mpumulanga Championships being the last championship before the National Team Trials to be held on 4 June 2016 (at St John's College, Houghton, Johannesburg), some players were desperate to do there last minute preparations for such National Team Trials.

The National Team Trials are to select South Africa's official Protea eSports Team to attend IeSF's 8th World  Championships to be held in Jakarta in October 2016.

Needless to say, the Mpumulanga Championships were the most enjoyable championships held by MSSA this year.

Of course, certain players deserve special mention…

In Morabaraba, Nombulelo Gavin, of Fakkel School inn Sasolburg, continued with her winning ways. After having won the Fezile Dabi Regional Championships on 11 May 2016, Nombulelo romped home to take first place, and to earn Free State Provincial Colours for herself in the process.

There is no doubt that Nombelelo will go far.

In League of Legends, Team Vapour, from Sasolburg High, continued to stamp their authority on the game. Having won the North West Provincial Championships, the Online Schools Championships, as well as having finished third in the Online provincial Championships, the school team romped home to victory in Mpumulanga to take yet another title.

Team Vapour has thus become the first team in South Africa to take all three such titles.

In FIFA, Kyle Turnbull, of HTS Witbank, has again proven his worth. It seems as though Kyle just can not be beaten. Kyle remains unbeaten in Provincial and National Championships in South Africa for the successive third year in a row. Truly Kyle is setting the standard for FIFA.

Likewise, Baber Abbas, in Tekken Tag Tournament and Street Fighter V, is the man to beat. Baber too remains unbeaten in official events.

The winners are:

Title Name of player/team Club Colours awarded
Ancients (DBM) Colin Webster Old Edwardian Wargames Club Gauteng Provincial
Checkers (female) Tie: Sonja Brown & Lucille Brown All Stars Mpumalanga Provincial
Checkers Khahliso Malape Fakkel School Free State Provincial
CounterStrike: GO HGH Hoerskool Generaal Hertzog Mpumulanga Provincial
FIFA '16 Kyle Turnbull HTS Witbank Mpumalanga Provincial
League of Legends Team Vapour Sasolburg High School awarded at North West
Morabaraba (female) Nombulelo Gavin Fakkel School Free State Provincial
Morabaraba Mukhathutshelo Masheleni Fakkel School
Mortal Kombat X (female) Sune van de Merwe HTS Witbank Mpumalanga Provincial
Mortal Kombat X Jan-Hendrik van Aswegen Hoerskool Generaal Hertzog Mpumalanga Provincial
PES 2016 Tie: Tumi Mohosho & Richard Ferreira Fakkel School
StarCraft II Gideon Hefer Knights Mind Sports Club Gauteng Provincial
Street Fighter V Baber Abbas Tekken Guru awarded at Gauteng
Street Fighter (High School) Mpho Ntsala Fakkel School
Street Fighter V (female) Sune van de Merwe HTS Witbank Mpumulanga Provincial
Tekken Tag Tournament II Baber Abbas Tekken Guru awarded at Gauteng
Tekken Tag Tournament II (High School) Pieter Lourens Hoerskool Generaal Hertzog
Tekken Tag Tournament II (female) Nadine Swart Knights Mind Sports Club

No comments:

Post a Comment