Friday 23 March 2018

Morabaraba - Players who have qualified for National Team Trials at the 36th Gauteng Provincial Championships.

Joseph Mathlong (North West University - Vaal) looking at emulating David Hlophe's achievements.
Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) has produced no less than six (6) senior, and four (4) junior world champions for the game of Morabaraba.

In 2002 MSSA had the pleasure to witness David Hlophe receive the 
President's Award (Silver Class) from The South African President, Mr Thabo Mbeki, at the President's residence in Cape Town.

Certainly David set the bar.
However,  at MSSA's 36th Gauteng Provincial Championships for the board game Morabaraba five (5) players qualified for National Team Trials for such period should trials be held for such period.

Trials for any game (period) are always held at the discretion of Mind Sports South Africa.

National Team Trials for 
Morabaraba shall be held on 5 and 6 May 2018.

The criteria to qualify for such trials all Registered Players that win a Regional Championship shall earn an  invitation to National Team Trials.

Also, all Registered Players that score within the top 20% or top three places, whichever is greater, in a specific Period at a Provincial or National Championship shall earn an invitation to National Team Trials.

It should be remembered that members of the current Protea Squad automatically earn a berth at the National Team Trials (NTT) should they have met their obligations in terms of participation at MSSA events.

The Registered Players that earned such an invite for 
Morabaraba are:

Name of playerClubPeriodProvince
Jarren SmithJCS AcademyMorabarabaFree State
Kamohlelo TladiSOSMorabarabaFree State
Anne-Lee SteynJCS AcademyMorabarabaFree State
Khanyisa SibandaJCS AcademyMorabarabaFree State
Joseph MathlongNorth West University - VaalMorabarabaGauteng

Other Registered Players that have earned a berth at MSSA's 2018 National Team Trials (NTT) are:

No comments:

Post a Comment