Wednesday, 24 August 2022

Nominations required by 31 August 2022 for MSSA's Management Board Awards.

Colin Webster (President of Mind Sports South Africa) encouraged the implementation of the awards in 2009 and all subsequent developments.

Mind Sports South Africa's Management Board Awards are the longest running awards for gaming in South Africa. The awards take into account all the various disciplines being, board gaming, card gaming, esports, and wargaming.

It could even be argued that such awards are the longest running awards for rewarding such athletes in the world having started in 2009. Whereas the long running awards (like BAFTA) acknowledge the games themselves, MSSA's Management Board Awards acknowledge the contribution made by the very gamers/athletes themselves. 

MSSA's Management Board Awards were initiated in 2009 to reward excellence not specifically provided for in MSSA's Constitution.

When reading through the names of those previously honored, the reader is quickly reminded of MSSA's rich history. The names are not just names, these are the men and women who have made an incredible contribution to the various mind sports in South Africa and even beyond South Africa's borders.

The awards are now more representative of MSSA's membership, of the work being done, and of society as a whole.

It should be noted by the reader that the categories for Writer of the Year, Social Media Person of the Year, and Sponsor of the Year are open categories and apply to anyone that has given their 'all' to the development of boardgames, card games, esports, and wargames as a sport.

The awards now take into account the following categories:
  • Mind Sports Person of the Year
  • Board Gamer of the Year
  • Esports Player of the Year
  • Wargamer of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Umpire of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Educator of the Year
  • Writer of the Year
  • Social Media Person of the Year
  • Sponsor of the Year

MSSA's Management Board requests all members to make submissions by 31 August 2022.

The names of previous winners may be seen on

Additional reading:

No comments:

Post a Comment