Sunday 10 June 2018

2018 Gsport Awards

Pictured are (from left) Lesedi FM sports presenter Dikeledi Makhongoana, who walked away with the Woman in Media Award, 2013 Hall of Fame inductee, Comrades Marathon legend Frith Van der Merwe, international rugby referee and incoming Woman of the Year winner, Marlize Jordaan; Sponsor of the Year winner Momentum SA represented by Charlene Lackay, Sports Federation of the Year winner, the Women’s Professional Golf Association of SA, represented by the association’s President Margie Whitehouse, 2013 Athlete of the Year with Disability winner Kgothatso Montjane, 2013 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year, Mapaseka Makhanya, Special Recognition Award winner, Minister Fikile Mbalula represented by Blanche Moila, Volunteer of the Year winner Morizane Boyes, Up and Coming Athlete of the Year Award recipient Nathania van Niekerk, Coach of the Year Award recipient Dominique Philippopoulos, and 2013 Style Star, Minnie Dlamini. Photo: Rebecca Hearfield / gsport
On 28 May 2018 Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) advised all its members that GSports will soon be holding its annual sports awards and requires nominations.

MSSA has always submitted nominations. Since the nominations come up against the best that South Africa has to offer, but sometimes, MSSA's nominees shine through.

Such was the case in 2013 when Morizane Boyses was, at the prestigious Wanderers Club in Illovo, awarded Volunteer of the Year.

In 2018 MSSA nominations are:
1. Athlete of the Year - Esmari Swart

2. Emerging Athlete of the Year - Chanel De Wet

3. School Sports Star - Chanel De Wet

4. Team of the Year - Valkyrie

5. Woman of the Year - Morizane Boyes

6. Woman in Print - Tamzyn Pamplin

7. Woman in Social Media - Angelique Ramos

8. Volunteer of the Year - Adele Janse van Rensburg

9. Federation of the Year - MSSA

10. Sponsor of the Year - BOO!

11. Special Recognition - Amone Bekker.

MSSA shall submit its nominations, together with suitable motivation, and then it is all up to the whims of the judges.

No comments:

Post a Comment