Tuesday 31 December 2019

Winners of MSSA's 33rd S A National Championships.

Charlize Seremak went straight from MSSA's SA National Championships to IESF's 11th World Championships.
Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) held its 36th South African National Championships at Fakkel School of Skills on 7 and 8 December 2019.

As usual, the school was a superb host, and the championships ran smoothly and without a hitch.
MSSA's SA National Championships is the last event of the year, and is without doubt, the most important championships on the South African calendar as any player witshing to qualify for selection to the South African National Squad, from which the South African National Protea Team, shall be selected must participate at such SA National Championships. Of course there are exceptions in certain cases, but in such cases, MSSA must be contacted prior to the event. 

Having run for 36 continuous years, MSSA's SA National Championships is breaking records. However, not all the various disciplines have been played for the full 36 years. Wargames heads the bill at having been played at all 36 National Championships, with Board games (in the form of Morabaraba) having been included in 1996. Shortly thereafter, in 1997, checkers made its debut. It was only in 2005, even though MSSA had been running Provincial Esports events since 1998, that Esports made its way into the SA National Championships.

Despite the pedigree of the other disciplines, it is now esports that contributes the largest amount of participants, and has more games (periods) being hosted than any othe discipline.

Even with esports only having been represented at MSSA's SA National Championships since 2005, it makes the esports portion possibly the oldest running esports national championships in the world!

Eleven (11) games (periods) were played, of which one (1) was a wargame, two (2) were board games and the remaning eight (8) were esports titles.

It must also be stressed that only titles that are played at SA National Championships, qualify to have teams selected that will earn Protea Colours. There are exceptions to the rule, but they are exceptions...

The championship was hard fought, and the standard exhibited showed a marked improvement over previous years.

The full list of winners is as follows:

TitleName of player/teamClubColours awarded
Ancients (DBM)Terence AllwrightOld Edwardian Mind Sports ClubNational Federation Colours
CheckersMelikaya NonyukelaVulturesNational Federation Colours
Clash Royale
Dale SpolanderNorthcliff High School
Daniel LombardMonument Park High School
Wesley PachaiCurro Klerksdorp
Counterstrike: GOTeam FiBMonument Park High SchoolNational Federation Colours
DotA 2Pr0NHSNorthcliff High SchoolNational Federation Colours
FIFA '19Zuko NomaqhizaCurro Klerksdorp
FIFA '19 - High SchoolKagiso MoagiCurro Klerksdorp
Hearthstone -- FemaleVicky van Der MerweZAG AcademyNational Federation Colours
HearthstoneGrey CravenCurro Aurora
Morabaraba - FemaleSaudah BhaimiaCurro KlerksdorpNational Federation Colours
Morabaraba Aidan VosterCurro Aurora
PaladinsBOO ImplodeBOO GamingNational Federation Colours
Street Fighter V
Theunis van der MerweHoerskool Klerksdorp
Leonard LoftusMasters of Mind Sports
Tekken 7 - FemaleCharlize SeremakZAG AcademyNational Federation Colours
Tekken 7Shaun Claudio LopesNorth West University - VaalNational Federation Colours
Tekken 7 - High SchoolCilliers SwanepoelCurro klerksdorp

Also read:

No comments:

Post a Comment