Friday 27 December 2019

The Best Newcomer Award for 2019 goes to...

Blake Govender was South Africa's flag-bearer at IESF's 11th World Championships - Seoul.
Every year at Mind Sports South Africa's (MSSA) Annual General Meeting (AGM), the member clubs have agonized over who should be awarded the Best Newcomer Award - well that is from 1987...

The award may only be awarded to the Registered Player who, in the eyes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM), has done exceptionally well in his/her initial stages of membership.

Blake Govender (Oakhill School) from the Western Cape has been awarded such award for the 2019 year.

Having excelled in many an official school championship and league event, Blake caught the eye of the Selection Committee which catapaulted him into the highest levels. However, none would have been possible without the support of the club as well as of the Educator-in-Charge, Diana Barnard.

Blake was selected to represent South Africa at IESF's 11th World Championships. His sportsmanship was a credit to South Africa, and he was selected to be South Africa's flag-bearer at tthe opening ceremony.

His achievements over the past year is an adventurous tale that may rank with most romances.

The total list of those awarded such prestigious award are as follows:

2019 Blake Govender Oakhill School
2018 Sebolelo Motlhabi North West University - Vaal
2017 Simone Beck Valhalla
2016 Joel van Wyk All Stars
2015 Wynand Meiring BeZerK Gaming
2014 Barry West Knights Mind Sports Club
2013 Mohamed Wasim Lorgat Energy eSports
2012 Lyrene Kűhn Knights Mind Sports Club
2011 Robert Botha PolarFluke
2010 Jonathan Grobler Hillcrest Wargames Club
2009 Xola Magwaza Knights Mind Sports Club
2008 Benjamin Williams Pretoria Boys High School
2007 Jonathan Grobler Hillcrest Wargames Club
2006 Werner Buter Maritzburg Christian School
2005 Thembile Nquezo Castrol Team
2004 Jonathan Newman Maritzburg Christian School
2003 Simphiwe Maphumulo Alexandra High School
2002 Teresa Chen Maritzburg Girls' High
2001 David Scholtz Maritzburg Griffons
2000 Attilla Molnar Westville Historical and Military Modelling Society
1999 Andre Tonkin Krugersdorp High School
1998 Rudolph Joubert Peninsula Wargames Group
1997 Thembinkosi Hambiyane Gauteng Draughts Association
1996 Richard Ligault Technikon Witwatersrand
1995 Jaco Vermeulen Potchefstroom Krygspele Vereeniging
1994 Damien Enslin Peninsula Wargames Group
1993 David Smith Old Edwardian Wargames Club
1992 Jethro Marks Old Edwardian Wargames Club
1991 David Young Northern Suburbs Wargames Club
1990 Dennis White Easterns Wargames Group
1989 Bruce Cahill Easterns Wargames Group
1988 Grant Casey Johannesburg Wargames Society
1987 Hal Couzens Johannesburg Wargames Society

Also read:

1 comment:

  1. Well done Blake you deserve this I'm super proud of you❤️❤️❤️