Wednesday 9 December 2020

Winners of MSSA's 34th S A National Championships.

Anneka Lourens (Hoërskool Klerksdorp) not only won her section, but also earned National  Federation Colours in doing so.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) held its 36th South African National Championships for esports as an online event, and its Figure gaming as a physical event. Esports was only played on  5 December 2020, while the Figure Gaming (wargames) event was held at the Old Edwardian Society on 5 & 6 December 2020

The SA National Championships for Board Gaming shall be held at the Old Edwardian Society on 12 December 2020.

MSSA's SA National Championships is the last event of the year, and is without doubt, the most important championships on the South African calendar as any player wishing to qualify for selection to the South African National Squad, from which the South African National Protea Team, shall be selected must participate at such SA National Championships. Of course there are exceptions in certain cases, but in such cases, MSSA must be contacted prior to the event. 

Having run for 34 continuous years, MSSA's SA National Championships is breaking records, and is the oldest and most well established championship for the games offered by MSSA. However, not all the various disciplines have been played for the full 34 years. Wargames heads the bill at having been played at all 34 National Championships, with Board games (in the form of Morabaraba) having been included in 1996. Shortly thereafter, in 1997, checkers made its debut. It was only in 2005, even though MSSA had been running Provincial Esports events since 1998, that Esports made its way into the SA National Championships.

Despite the pedigree of the other disciplines, it is now esports that contributes the largest amount of participants, and has more games (periods) being hosted than any other discipline.

Even with esports only having been represented at MSSA's SA National Championships since 2005, it makes the esports portion possibly the oldest continuously running esports national championships in the world!

Nine (9) games (periods) were played, of which one (1) was a wargame, and the remaining eight (8) were esports titles.

It must also be stressed that only titles that are played at SA National Championships, qualify to have teams selected that will earn Protea Colours. There are exceptions to the rule, but they are exceptions...

The championship was hard fought, and the standard exhibited showed a marked improvement over previous years.

Eighteen (18) players earned National Federation Colours. National Federation Colours are automatically awarded to all Registered Players that win all their games at the SA National Championships.

The full list of winners is as follows:

TitleName of player/teamClubColours awarded
Ancients Figure Gaming - PremierColin WebsterOld Edwardian Mind Sports Club
Ancients Figure Gaming - High SchoolsElwyn JonesOld Edwardian Mind Sports Club
Ancients Figure Gaming -HandicapsGreg LaycockOld Edwardian Mind Sports Club
Clash Royale - PremierWillie van RensburgHoërskool Klerksdorp
Clash Royale - High SchoolsHenco VolschenkHoërskool Klerksdorp
Clash Royale - FemaleAnneke LourensHoërskool KlerksdorpNational Colours
Counter-Strike: GOZAG CS:GOZAG AcademyNational Colours
DotA 2 - PremierGoochSonsZAG AcademyNational Colours
HearthStone - Premier
Aidan VorsterZAG Academy
Kyle VorsterZAG Academy
Paladins - PremierBooImplodeBoo GamesNational Colours
PES - PremierNaeem ThomasPES Society
Street Fighter V- PremierTheunis van der MerweHoërskool KlerksdorpNational Colours
Tekken 7 - PremierJonathan BrownTeam PlayBellNational Colours

Also read:

No comments:

Post a Comment