Friday 28 July 2017

2017 On-line Championships for HearthStone, and StarCraft II - 12 August 2017

Blue Dragon - dominating the South African StarCraft II scene.
The MSSA is proud to announce that the 201On-line Championshipfor HearthStone, and StarCraft II will be held on 12 August 2017.

The online championships for StarCraft II has run since 2011 whereas HearthStone was only run by MSSA from 2014.
The championship may be used by gamers to qualify for eligibility to compete in the 2018 National Team Trials should the MSSA need to choose a team for any of the above-named titles.

Tournament Structure:

As per the MSSA's rules, being:
  • If less than six players, the championship shall be a Round Robin Championship
  • If 6 to 10 players the championship shall be four rounds as played to the Swiss System
  • If 11 to 30 players the championship shall be five rounds as played to the Swiss System
  • Any player/team who is a Registered Player affiliated to a MSSA member club may enter.
Entry fee:
  • Entry is free to all full-paid-up Registered Players.
  • Only fully-paid-up Registered Players may participate in this event.
Entry date:
  • Entries need to be submitted by no later than Thursday, 10 August 2017.
  • To register, clubs must complete the Google Page allocated to the club.
Medals shall be awarded to the first three gamers for both men and women in the following categories:
  • PREMIER: The top three places (1st, 2nd, and 3rd).
  • UNIVERSITY:Medals shall be awarded to gamers the first three gamers that have not won a Premier medal and who are students currently registered at any officially recognised University.
  • SCHOLARS: Medals shall be awarded to the first three learners currently registered at any officially recognised school, or home schooled, provided they have not received any Premier medals. 
  • Protea Colours: Only Players that are selected to represent South Africa in International Championships may earn National Colours if the Protea Colours Board's criteria are met.
  • National Colours: All Players that win all of their Matches at a National Championship will earn National Colours.
  • Provincial Colours: All Players that win all of their Matches at a Provincial Championship will earn Provincial Colours. All Players who score within the top 50% in a specific Period at a Provincial Championship, and who also score within the top 50% at a National Championship in the same period and in the same year, will earn Provincial Colours.
When and Where:
  • 12 August 2017
  • The first round will start at 10H00. Players shall be given 60 minutes to complete each round. 
  • Players must all be on-line at 9H00.
The championship is accredited as being of the same status as a provincial championship. This means that the championship shall be used for the following:
  • The awarding of provincial colours;
  • The awarding of medals for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in Premier, Under 24, and School categories;
  • The ability to qualify for National Team Trials. 
As usual Trials shall be done at a LAN venue, and the team that can best represent South Africa shall then be selected.
Shout casting:
  • The MSSA shall decide who may shout-cast the games.
  • Anybody wishing to be appointed as a Shout-Caster must apply in writing to 

No comments:

Post a Comment