Sunday 27 August 2017

Request for nominations for MSSA's 2017 Management Board Awards

Matthew Smith - MSSA's 2016 Computer Gamer of the Year.
Back in 2009, Mind Sport South Africa (MSSA) started its Management Board Awards.

The Awards were designed to recognise the contribution made by those who gave selflessly, and/or made an impact, to the promotion of the various types of gaming under the jurisdiction of MSSA.

The list is a veritable 'who's-who' in South African gaming.

Even though some of the 'names' have moved on to further their prospects in business, Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) shall always fondly remember the winners and the incredible contribution that they made towards gaming.

Some, like Simphiwe Maphumulo and Morizane Boyes , became even more involved.

Both Simphiwe and Morizane moved from being great gamers to take up active roles in the administration of MSSA as President of the MSSA.

However, the time has once again arrived for members to make their nominations for MSSA's Management Board Awards.

The categories are:
  • Mind Sports Person of the Year 
  • Board Gamer of the Year 
  • Computer Gamer of the Year 
  • Wargamer of the Year 
  • Volunteer of the Year 
  • Writer of the Year 
  • Sponsor of the Year
If you wish to make a nomination, please submit such nomination in writing together with full motivation for such to before 15 October 2017.

Such nomination must contain a detailed motivation for the Management Board to consider.

The period under review for nominations is 1 October 2016 to 30 September 2017.

Nominations must be sent to

The award is presented at MSSA's Annual General Meeting.

Past winners are:
Year Mind Sports Person of the Year Board Gamer of the Year Computer Gamer of the Year Wargamer of the Year Volunteer of the Year Writer of the Year Sponsor of the Year
2016 Jason Batzofin Lucille Brown Matthew Smith Garth Schoeman Colin Webster Tamzyn Pamplin (MyComLink) SterKinekor
2015 Elishia Retief Lubabalo Kondlo Kyle Turnbull Jason Batzofin Morizane Boyes Andrew Rose (MyComLink) MWEB
2014 Morizan Boyes Lubabalo Kondlo Barry West Elishia Retief Louis Brown Kyle Wolmarans (MWEB Gamezone) MWEB
2013 Simphiwe Maphumulo Simphiwe Maphumulo Lyrene Kuhn Colin Webster Dorian Love Han Ciliiers (MWEB Gamezone) MWEB
2012 Robert Botha Simphiwe Maphumulo Gabriela Isaacs Eugene Burger Louis Brown Han Cilliers (MWEB Gamezone) GIGABYTE
2011 Jaco Engelbrecht Lubabalo Kondlo Robert Botha David Vannucci Ryan van den Bergh Alexandra Kayle (ITWEB) ASUS
2010 Frans Brewis Simphiwe Maphumulo Nialle Momsen Gregory Laycock Ryan van den Bergh Jaco Diedericks Incredible Connection
2009 Colin Webster Mothusi Moabi Stephen White Edward van Trotsenburg Ryan van den Bergh Muhammed Nagdee (Verge) Incredible Connection

No comments:

Post a Comment