Friday 21 December 2018

The Best Newcomer Award for 2018 goes to...

Sebolelo Motlhabi (North West University - Vaal) was voted in as 2018's Best Newcomer.
Every year at Mind Sports South Africa's  (MSSA) Annual General Meeting (AGM), the member clubs have agonized over who should be awarded the Best Newcomer Award - well that is from 1987...

The award may only be awarded to the Registered Player who, in the eyes of the Annual General Meeting, has done exceptionally well in his/her initial stages of membership.

Sebolelo Motlhabi is the third female to be awarded such award.

Having won the Sedibeng Regional Championships, Sebolelo went on to trounce all opponents at the North West Championships. Thus in her first year of registration, Sebolelo earned her Regional and Provincial Colours and qualified for National Team Trials. At such National Team Trials Sebolelo was selected as a member of the National Morabaraba Squad, thus dispelling anybody's doubts about her being truly deserving of the award.

Her achievements remind me of an adventurous tale which can rank with the very best stories of achievement.

The total list of those awarded such prestigious award are as follows:
2018Sebolelo MotlhabiNorth West University - Vaal
2017Simone BeckValhalla
2016Joel van WykAll Stars
2015Wynand MeiringBeZerK Gaming
2014Barry WestKnights Mind Sports Club
2013Mohamed Wasim LorgatEnergy eSports
2012Lyrene KűhnKnights Mind Sports Club
2011Robert BothaPolarFluke
2010Jonathan GroblerHillcrest Wargames Club
2009Xola MagwazaKnights Mind Sports Club
2008Benjamin WilliamsPretoria Boys High School
2007Jonathan GroblerHillcrest Wargames Club
2006Werner ButerMaritzburg Christian School
2005Thembile NquezoCastrol Team
2004Jonathan NewmanMaritzburg Christian School
2003Simphiwe MaphumuloAlexandra High School
2002Teresa ChenMaritzburg Girls' High
2001David ScholtzMaritzburg Griffons
2000Attilla MolnarWestville Historical and Military Modelling Society
1999Andre TonkinKrugersdorp High School
1998Rudolph JoubertPeninsula Wargames Group
1997Thembinkosi HambiyaneGauteng Draughts Association
1996Richard LigaultTechnikon Witwatersrand
1995Jaco VermeulenPotchefstroom Krygspele Vereeniging
1994Damien EnslinPeninsula Wargames Group
1993David SmithOld Edwardian Wargames Club
1992Jethro MarksOld Edwardian Wargames Club
1991David YoungNorthern Suburbs Wargames Club
1990Dennis WhiteEasterns Wargames Group
1989Bruce CahillEasterns Wargames Group
1988Grant CaseyJohannesburg Wargames Society
1987Hal CouzensJohannesburg Wargames Society

No comments:

Post a Comment