Monday 24 December 2018

The scope of South Africa's longest running awards for gaming has just got bigger.

Johan van Breda - MSSA's 2018 Volunteer of the Year.
Mind Sports South Africa's Management Board Awards are without doubt the longest running awards for gaming in South Africa. It could be argued that such awards are the longest running awards for rewarding such type of athletes in the world. Whereas the long running awards (like BAFTA) acknowledge the games themselves, MSSA's Management Board Awards acknowledge the contribution made by the very gamers/athletes themselves.

MSSA's Management Board Awards were initiated in 2009 to reward excellence not specifically provided for in MSSA's Constitution.

When reading through the names of those previously honoured, the reader is quickly reminded of MSSA's rich history. The names are not just names, these are the men and women who have made an incredible contribution to the various mind sports in South Africa.

Yet, the awards fell short in acknowledging the contribution of so many other Registered Players. Thus under the direction of MSSA president, Amanda Pakade, MSSA's highest legisative body, being the Annual General Meeting, agreed to widen the scope of such awards.

Thus the awards are now more representative of MSSA's membership, of the work being done, and of society as a whole.

It should be noted by the reader that the catagories for Writer of the Year, Social Media Person of the Year, and Sponsor of the Year are open catagories and apply to anyone that has given their 'all' to the development of esports as a sport.

The awards now take into account the following categories:

  • Mind Sports Person of the Year
  • Board Gamer of the Year
  • Esports Player of the Year
  • Wargamer of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Umpire of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Educator of the Year
  • Writer of the Year
  • Social Media Person of the Year
  • Sponsor of the Year
As usual, MSSA's Management Board shall request all members to make submissions by 31 August.

No comments:

Post a Comment