Monday 27 March 2017

Results: 21st North West Provincial Championships

Sinister5 with their Provincial Colours certificates.

As the year continues with its relentless march forward, players frantically scramble for a place in MSSA's National Team Trials.

Thus MSSA's 21st North West Championships is the third last championship in which players may qualify for such Trials.

For those teams that have qualified, the work has begun in earnest in order to hone their skills for Trials, while some players are still desperately trying to qualify.

MSSA's 21st North West Provincial Championships were hosted by Curro Klerksdorp

Thanks must be extended to Curro Klerksdorp and especially Hannes Esterhuizen.

The championship attracted players from the Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, North West, and Mpumulanga.

Players battled it out to earn the various titles of North West Champion, and the right to fight for a place in the 2017 National Team Trials that will ultimately deliver a team to the IeSF's 2017 9th World Championships later in 2017.

The  standard at MSSA's north west Championships has certainly improved, and the championship was  characterised by some very fierce competition.

DotA 2 was dominated by 
Sinister5. The newly affiliated team dominated their opponents in order to take first place and secure their berth in the National Team Trials.

The winners are:

Title Name of player/team Club Colours awarded
Ancients (DBM) (female) Elishia Retief North West University Provincial
Ancients (DBM) Jason Batzofin Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Counterstrike: GO Soviet UZ Midstream College Provincial
Counterstrike: GO (High School) Quantum Curro Klerksdorp
DotA 2 Sinister5 Sinister5 Provincial
FIFA '17 Jade Appels Curro Klerksdorp Provincial
FIFA '17 (High School) Lesedi Motale Curro Klerksdorp
Mortal Kombat X (female) Doreen Els Teutonic Knights Mind Sports Club
Mortal Kombat X Theunis van der Merwe Curro Klerksdorp Provincial
Mortal Kombat X (High School) Tumelo Sesinyi Curro Klerksdorp
PES 2017 Ryan Gathita & Mpumi Madeou Curro Klerksdorp Provincial – Mpumi Madeou
PES 2017 (High School) Alessandro Sacca Curro Klerksdorp
StarCraft II (female) Dominique Magon Blue Dragon Provincial
StarCraft II Stefan Morris Blue Dragon Provincial
Street Fighter V (female) Doreen Els Teutonic Knights Mind Sports Club
Street Fighter V Theunis van der Merwe Curro Klerksdorp
Tekken Tag Tournament II (female) Doreen Els Teutonic Knights Mind Sports Club
Tekken Tag Tournament II Mark Morobane Curro Klerksdorp Provincial
VainGlory Pr0NHS Northcliff High School

In total 17 players earned the right to wear provincial colours.

Photographs of the event may be found on:

No comments:

Post a Comment