Monday 26 June 2017

Results: 14th Free State Championships - 24 and 25 June 2017.

Gawie Fick (left)  enjoying a game of Tekken 7 against Leoné Loftus.
Mind Sports South Africa's 14th Free State Provincial Championships were held on 24 and 25 June 2017 and was once again hosted by an ever efficient Fakkel School in Sasolburg. The championship was a fantastic success with entries increasing by 60% over the 2016 numbers. 

This is the second consecutive year that Fakkel School has hosted such championship. The school is thus fast gaining a reputation for becoming the center for gaming in the Free State.

Special thanks must be extended to the school, Mr Henry Colin, all the administrators, umpires, participants and spectators for making a truly memorable event.

It was great to see so many parents come through to watch and encourage their children on to greater heights.

The championship attracted players from Free State,and  Gauteng as players battled it out to earn the title of Free State Champion in the various games on offer, as well as the right to fight for a place in the 2018 National Team Trials that will ultimately deliver the National Protea teams that will compete in various international events.

Now that MSSA has a channel on Tuluntulu, much of the footage filmed at such 14th Free State Championships will be screened on such channel.

History was made at MSSA's 14th Free State Championships when Chanel De Wet (JCS Academ) became the first female to earn Free State Provincial Colours for the game of Checkers. 

Well done Chanel De Wet, we are all proud of you.

The full list of winners is:
Title Name of player/team Club Colours awarded
Checkers (female) Cassandra van Tonder JCS Academy
Checkers Pheelo Humane Fakkel School High School Provincial
Checkers (High School) Neo Mokoena Fakkel School
Checkers (Primary School) Wynand Janse van Rensburg JCS Academy
Counterstrike: GO Masters Masters of Mind Sports Provincial
FIFA '17 Khahliso Malape and
Gordon McCormack
Fakkel School
JCS Academy

FIFA '17 (High School) Thokozane Matimane Fakkel School
FIFA '17 (Primary School) Franco Janse van Rensburg Masters of Mind Sports
HearthStone Beon Bronthorst and
Christopher Fenton
JCS Academy
Morabaraba (female) Anne-Lee Steyn JCS Academy Provincial
Morabaraba Jarren Smith JCS Academy Provincial
Morabaraba (High School) Xavier Ferreira JCS Academy
Mortal Kombat X (female) Leoné Loftus Fakkel School
Mortal Kombat X Joost Loftus Masters of Mind Sports Provincial
Mortal Kombat X (High School) Phoenix Janse van Vuuren Fakkel School
PES 2017 (female) Angelique Taljaard Fakkel School Provincial
PES 2017 Khahliso Malape Fakkel School Provincial
PES 2017 (High School) Gordon McCormack JCS Academy
StarCraft II Devon Morris Blue Dragon
StarCraft II (Under 24) Chad Schuleman Blue Dragon
Street Fighter V (female) Leoné Loftus Fakkel School
Street Fighter V Joost Loftus Masters of Mind Sports
Street Fighter V (High School) Phoenix Janse van Vuuren Fakkel School
Street Fighter V (Primary School) Gushin de Bruin Fakkel School
Tekken 7 (female) Leoné Loftus Fakkel School
Tekken 7 (female – High School) Kristen Cockeran Fakkel School
Tekken 7 (female – Primary School) Kaitlyn Creighton Masters of Mind Sports
Tekken 7 Gawie Fick Fakkel School Provincial
Tekken 7 (High School) Rynhardt Engelbrecht Fakkel School
Tekken 7 (Primary School) Franco Janse van Rensburg Fakkel School

Photographs of the event may be found at:

No comments:

Post a Comment