Monday 6 February 2017

25th Old Edwardian Wargames Championships

Colin Webster - five time winner of the Old Edwardian Summer Wargames Championships.
On 4 & 5 February 20!7, the Old Edwardian Wargames Club held its annual wargames championships.

Such championship is open to any player whether they are a member of MSSA or not, and many believe that the championships marks the beginning of South africa's season.

The championship differs considerably from MSSA's championships as players have to select armies that are 600AP (600 Army Points) in strength as opposed to the usual 400AP.

However, the additional 200AP are not immediately used in battle, such extra 200AP are kept in reserve to replace losses.

Yes, losses are carried forward.

Thus armies, if misused, may dwindle in size to almost nothing for the final game.The championship too forces players to re-evaluate the different troops that they use, and, as a result after such championships, many of the players who participated emerge for the year's gruelling round of championships with leaner, and very much meaner, troop combinations.

The championship affords the top competitors the opportunity to experiment more than in any other competition.

Thus the championship is always well subscribed and hard-fought.

The results of the championship were:

Division Pos Name Club
PREMIER 1 Colin Webster Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Tie 2 Jason Batzofin Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Terence Allwright Old Edwardian Wargames Club
Under 24 1 Gregory Laycock Tuks University

No comments:

Post a Comment