Wednesday 22 August 2018

Going into the 5th, and final round, of the 4 term school online league.

'Team Theory' (Oakhill College) in action.
With the final round of Mind Sports South Africa's 4 term school online league being played, it is interesting to review the current results.

So far the leaders in Counter-Strike: GO, DotA 2, StarCraft II, and VainGlory have won all their games and should such teams and players finish the league having won all their games, such teams and players will automatically earn their High School Provincial Colours.

Other teams/players that finish in the top 50% of the High School League and who have also finished in the top 50% of school teams in any other MSSA Provincial Championship shall also earn their High School Provincial Colours.

Paul Roos Gimnasium is wasting no time in stamping their authority in esports. Not content with being renown for their ability in other traditional sports, Paul Roos Gimnasium is becoming a force with which to be reckoned.

Oakhill College has dominated DotA 2 for a couple of years, but the school has also expanded their repertoire to include the console game of FIFA '18.

However, Empangeni High School fresh from totally dominating the KwaZulu Natal Championships, is continuing to build on its success and is well represented among the leaders in the various game titles.

The big surprise though is from Hoërskool Warmbad who is leading the StarCraft II esports title.

The lesson to be learnt from MSSA's  esports online school league is that no school can sit on its laurels as new schools to the league (like Paul Roos Gimnasium and Hoërskool Warmbad) are capable in effectively challenging the status quo at very short notice. Schools, like Oakhill College, Curro Klerksdorp, and Empangeni High School) and  that follow the lessons from traditional sport in terms of coaching, training, creating depth, and motivating the learners are those that earn the best results - as they do in the more traditional sports.

As a result, in order to further develop their teams, many schools are turning to officially accredited coaches. Such accredited coaches vare able to further develop the esports athletes and get them to the next level.

The leaders of MSSA's 4 term school online league are:

Esports titleTeam/Player's nameEvent typeSchool
Counter-Strike: GOPRG BTeamPaul Roos Gimnasium
DotA 2Team TheoryTeamOakhill College
FIFA '18Sash SunkarIndividualOakhill College
Matthias DhontIndividualPaul Roos Gimnasium
Junior MoorIndividualEmpangeni High School
League of LegendsThe Lunar SquadTeamEmpangeni High School
StarCraft IIRiaan PretoriusIndividualHoërskool Warmbad
Tekken 7
Darnell Fynn IndividualEmpangeni High School
Nzimandi UnathiIndividualEmpangeni High School
Halgreen IanIndividualEmpangeni High School
Cillieris SwanepoelIndividualCurro Klerksdorp
VainGloryEmpangeni HighTeamEmpangeni High School

No comments:

Post a Comment