Friday 8 December 2017

Titles selected for all Premier online and LAN championships for the 2018 year.

MSSA's 2017 BOO! Protea League of Legends Team (from left to right): Brett Whitehead, Kyle Taylor, Brandon Fester, Connor Cryans, and Gregory Wessels.
Mind Sports South Africa (MSSA) is the largest member based esports organisation in South Africa and runs more events in more titles than any other organisation in South Africa.
That's not bad for a non-profit organisation that is utterly dependent on volunteers who dedicate hours of their own time and passion to ensure that events take place and go off without a hitch.

MSSA has run esports events, both online and LAN, since 1999, and what started with only one title (StarCraft), MSSA is committed to hosting championships in no less than 10 titles per provincial and national championship.

The big addition for 2018 is 'Rocket League'. For those that do not know, Rocket League is a vehicular soccer video game developed and published by Psyonix. The game was first released for Microsoft Windows and PlayStation 4 in July 2015, with ports for Xbox One, OS X, Linux, and Nintendo Switch later being released. 
The esports title of 'Rocket League' is fast paced, and has a huge and loyal following. 

Thus the titles selected by the Annual General Meeting (AGM) are those that will continue to enhance the concept of esports as a sport and will further enable South Africa to compete on an  international level.

Thus the titles selected for all Premier online and LAN championships for the 2018 year are:

Period/genre Title Platform Players
FPS CS GO PC 5 v 5
Sport FIFA '18 Console 1 v 1
PES 2018 Console 1 v 1
Rocket League PC 3 v 3
RTS StarCraft II PC 1 v 1
AOS Dota 2 PC 5 v 5
League of Legends PC 5 v 5
Fighting Tekken 7 Console 1 v 1
Street Fighter V Console 1 v 1
Card HearthStone Various 1 v 1

No comments:

Post a Comment