Monday 4 December 2017

Results: MSSA's 2017 31st South African National Championships

Kaira Gabrielle Pinard (Valhalla)
MSSA's 31st South African National Championships (SAN) was more than efficiently hosted by Fakkel School in Sasolburg. Even though this was the first time that such event was ever hosted by the school, and only the third time that the SA Nationals were hosted in the Free State, the event went off without a hitch and was an unprecedented success.

Thanks must be extended to Fakkel School, Henry Colin and the Free State Provincial Director, Mr. Leonard Loftus.

The championship attracted entries from the majority of provinces. Entries were received from 6 provinces.

Female participation continued to grow with female participation growing in a number of titles. The SA Nationals is thus now the championship that has more female participation than any other championship held in South Africa, and ranks among the top championships in the world for such.

Players thus battled it out to not only to earn the titles of South African Champion and SA Ladder Champions, but also to earn National Federation Colours and the right to fight for a place in the 2018 National Team Trials that will ultimately deliver a team to IeSF's 2017 10th World Championships - 
Kaohsiung City.

While a number of the titles were taken by the 'old guard', there were a few upsets.

The most notable upset was by Charlize Seremak (HTS Sasolburg) who won the female division of Tekken 7, and in the process of doing so, established herself as being a keen competitor.

Another notable performance was by Kaira Gabriella Pinard who won bothe the HearthStone and StarCraft II titles, and in the process earned herself National Federation Colours.

All the medalists in the Premier divisions (both male and female) are reminded that they have all earned a place in MSSA's National Team Trials (NTT). However, all those wishing to participate in such, are reminded that they must have a valid South African passport at the date of such NTT, and that all those who are minors, must have a valid unabridged birth certificate.

The winners are:

TitleName of player/teamClubColours awarded
Ancients – PremierColin WebsterOld Edwardian Wargames ClubProvincial
Ancients – Handicap ChampionshipsTerence AllwrightOld Edwardian Wargames ClubProvincial
Ancients – High SchoolsAlexander SchoemanKnights Mind Sports Club
Checkers – FemaleChanel de WetJCS AcademyNational & School National
Checkers – PremierPheello MaphumaneFakkel School
Checkers – High SchoolJan- Hendrik van AswegenHGH Witbank
CounterStrike: GOVxP CSGOVexxedPhoenixNational Federation
FIFA ‘17 – FemaleRu-Landie KilianAffies SasolburgNational & School National
FIFA ‘17 – PremierKhahliso MalapeFakkel SchoolNational, School National & Provincial
HearthstoneKaira Gabriella PinardValhallaNational & Provincial
League of Legends – PremierGenx NightwalkersGen XNational Federation
League of Legends – High SchoolParys High School Parys High School
PES 2017 - FemaleRu-Landie KilianAffies SasolburgNational & School National
PES 2017 - PremierKhahliso MalapeFakkel SchoolNational & School National
PES 2017 - High SchoolFranco Janse van RensburgMasters of Mind Sports
Morabaraba – FemaleAnne-Lee SteynJCS AcademyNational & Provincial
Morabaraba – PremierCobus van der WathFakkel School
Mortal Kombat X – FemaleBronwyn WilliamsJCS AcademyNational & School National
Mortal Kombat X – PremierPieter OelofseHTS SasolburgNational & School National
Mortal Kombat X – High SchoolJooste LoftusMasters of Mind SportsSchool Provincial
StarCraft II – FemaleKaira Gabriella PinardValhallaNational Federation
StarCraft II – PremierAidan SmaleOld Edwardian Wargames ClubSchool Provincial
Street Fighter V – FemaleLeone LoftusFakkel SchoolNational & School National
Street Fighter V – PremierMxolisi LukheleAmplified RebellionNational Federation
Street Fighter V – High SchoolWynand J v RensburgJCS Academy
Tekken 7 – FemaleCharlize SeremakHTS SasolburgNational & School National
Tekken 7 – PremierAlasdair DonaldsonVexxedPhoenixNational Federation
Tekken 7 – High School
Pieter LourensHGH Witbank
Leighton howellsHTS Sasolburg
Sportsmanship awardAlasdair DonaldsonVexxedPhoenix

No comments:

Post a Comment